Peter Wright OAM Award

The Peter Wright OAM Award was established in recognition of Peter’s exceptional contribution to squash and in particular Masters Squash, to provide Peter the opportunity to recognise people in his view who have made a significant contribution to Masters Squash locally and nationally.

Peter has not only been a player but has been an active administrator in the sports of squash tennis and football for over 60 years.

In 2015 Peter was awarded an Order of Australia Medal for services to the sport of squash, tennis and football.  In the same year, Peter was also admitted to the Hall of Fame for Squash and Racquetball Victoria and was also awarded a Distinguished Lifetime Award to squash by Squash Australia.

In 2010 Peter received the Hans Ebeling award and in 2019 was awarded Legend Status of the Melbourne Cricket Club in recognition of the prominent role he has played administration and development of the MCC Squash Section since 1988.

In 2020 Peter was awarded Legend Status of Squash and Racquetball Victoria.

Peter is a life member of the Australian Masters Squash Association (2002), MCC Squash Section (2009), Squash & Racquetball Victoria (2017).

Peter has been involved in masters squash since its inception in 1980.  He was President of the VMSA in the early 80s and stood down when he became President of the AMSA in 1986, a position he still holds today.

Peter was the Championship Director for the 1995 and 2001 World Squash Titles and World Technical Director for 2009 World Masters Games. He was also on the Commonwealth Games Committee for squash in 2005

As a player, Peter has won 3 World Masters Squash Championships and was runner up in another 4.  He has also been Australian Masters Squash Champion 5 times, New Zealand Masters Squash Champion 5 times and has been a player, manager and captain of the Australian Masters Squash team 12 times.

Whilst Peter is no longer able to play squash, he remains very active in the administration side of Masters Squash and his passion for masters squash is still as strong as ever.

Peter Wright OAM Award Recipients

Year Name State
2015 Debbie Sims ACT
2016 Brian Cook QLD
2017 Gaye Mitchell TAS
2018 Jan Whackett QLD (previously NSW)
2019 Dave Fuller (Dec) NSW
2020 No award due to COVID-19
2021 No award due to COVID-19
2022 Doug Minchin WA
2023 Terry Barlow VIC